On Swimming Pools and Opera

The best of Brodick featured in my life yesterday.

First of all, I arranged MyBus to take me to the Auchrannie Spa so that I could go swimming by myself for the first time since I got ill six years ago. Definitely one step at a time as I combined walking in water with breaststroke. FANTASTIC feeling of achievement after half an hour of ‘swimming’ well rewarded with a cappucino upstairs in Cruise. That I can walk up those stairs is a miracle in itself these days.

In the evening I went to Brodick Hall for a treat which was four singers and a pianist on tour with Scottish Opera – wonderful music and no swimming necessary. We are so unbelievably lucky on Arran to have such first class performances at very reasonable cost and I shall look forward to the next time. Have to say, Mozart is still my favourite and the lovely duet from the Magic Flute “the man who feels love’s sweet emotion” sung in English by Pamina and the Bird Catcher Papageno made it all worthwhile.

Directed by Jim Manganello the singers were Adam Gilbert, Baritone, Emma Kerr, Mezzo-soprano, Elgan Llyr Thomas, Tenor and Roisin Walsh as the amazingly beautiful soprano. They were accompanied seamlessly on the piano by Jonathon Swinard.

The two together made a wonderfully ‘normal’ day for me with not much thought to what I cannot yet do in my recovery.

Tonight I am heading for the Screen Machine, our own articulated lorry which opens into a cinema. We are going to see “LaLa Land” and I shall enjoy the opportunity to hang out with Simon and appreciate that he is living nearby for the moment.

I feel blessed and grateful for my recovering health and opportunities we have on the island to keep up to date with film and concerts.

DAFFS & GRAPE HYACINTS1

Daffodils & Grape Hyacinths -Promise of Spring

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About lynngrayross

A mother and grandmother with 40 years of experience in textile arts. Author of Handweaving: the Basics published by Bloomsbury UK. Keen photographer. Go sailing at every opportunity!

One response to “On Swimming Pools and Opera

  1. Your “walking” in the water reminds me of the times I used a small pool to “run” in the water. A PT person advised that I do it backwards and sideways, too. I did. It was a great workout!

    Rejuvenating physical exercise and the uplifting world of Mozart! Great combo!

    Thanks you for “Promise of Spring” photo! To me, the cluster-bloom of the Grape Hyacinths recall Texas Bluebonnets.

Leave a Reply

Wee Ginger Dug

Biting the hand of Project Fear

Scottish island mum

A perspective on life.

Girl Tries Life

Aiming to lead my best life, each and every day

Spiritual Dragonfly

QUEST FOR AN AUTHENTIC LIFE ☽ ⊕ ☼ ॐ.....

Healthy. Healed. You., LLC

Personalized nutritional counseling

Backstrap Weaving

My weaving , my indigenous teachers, my inspiration, tutorials and more........

isabell buenz

Art, fashion and other stuff

warpandwoofknitting

knitter, hiker, spinner and beginner weaver . meditation too.

Island Weaver & Knitter

Lynn Gray Ross Textile Designs

Felting Spinning Weaving - by Katrin Eagle

Life as a wool artist with stories of spinning, weaving and needle felting.

Kids, Dogs, and Crafts...Oh, My!

Life with kids and dogs, learning new crafts, and parents who are adjusting to role reversal

Amy's Sandblog

Every designer needs a sandbox - a place to create, experiment & get a little messy...and how about a blog to share these pieces! Welcome to my Sandblog :)

Skye Blessing

A place to share my other side....

Yogis Anonymous Blog

More than just yoga videos. Your practice, off the mat.

Pearls and Oysters

Creative Thoughts and Observations

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

