Plugging Back in Again

This week was lovely.

Letter from the liver transplant clinic to say that my next  review is in December by phone so I don’t have to travel to Edinburgh. T’ai Chi practice and a session with Jane Sloan combining T’ai Chi for Rehabilitation and Chi Gong exercises completely energising and destressing the body.

Arrival of daughter and granddaughters from Galway for a few precious catch-up days with Simon and me. I made much use of MyBus to go to places I would otherwise not have managed. Today we went up to the new Adventure Playground up behind Brodick Castle and walked up to the Bronze Age house by which time on the way down it was absolutely bucketing town and the consensus was to head for the cafe to dry off and reconsider our options for the hour before the bus came back. Simon and Fern decided to brave the weather and explored the playground thoroughly, Fern dressed in my climbing raincoat. Well, what else can you expect from an Arran July? The last official heatwave was in 1976.

Yesterday afternoon was spent at the Eco -Savvy workshop on recycling fabric in Whiting Bay Hall. Barbara I’Ansson asked me to come along and exhibit some of my weavings which are on a recycling theme – I took along a rag rug I made in 1973 which is still going strong, but because I didn’t have a loom with me, I suggested that we cut strips of fabric and start a braided rug. The process was fun and the result was impressive in length and I plugged in to an old skill I used to practice before I discovered weaving. If you want to have a go, EcoSavvy will be holding similar workshops around the island in the next few months and the craic was definitely as good as the soup and cake.

Today while drying out I took advantage of my two visiting IT and web experts and updated my weaving website Lynn Gray Ross  and the knitting pattern website for The Arran Knitting Company with traditional patterns with a contemporary twist which I designed a few years ago. The marketing had to be put on hold during my years of illness but it is great fun to meet these old friends again (and the models who are also old friends). The patterns are for sale on the Etsy page for The Arran Knitting Company.

I’m not allowed to post photos of teenage granddaughters on Facebook (their demand). Just as well, because this afternoon we would have been a drookit bunch, i.e. extremely soaking wet.

I shall miss them as always tomorrow when they leave, but it pleases me enormously to know that they are doing so well in school and as they go out to explore the world, they will have a unique string to their bow in their fluent Irish language. Their impatience with the language lessons will be rewarded at some point when they least expect it.

 

 

 

 

About lynngrayross

A mother and grandmother with over 40 years of experience in textile arts. Author of "Handweaving: the Basics" published by Bloomsbury UK. Available to purchase from www.bloomsbury.com

Leave a Reply

Wee Ginger Dug

Biting the hand of Project Fear

Scottish island mum

A perspective on life.

Girl Tries Life

Aiming to lead my best life, each and every day

Spiritual Dragonfly

QUEST FOR AN AUTHENTIC LIFE ☽ ⊕ ☼ ॐ.....

Healthy. Healed. You., LLC

Personalized nutritional counseling

Backstrap Weaving

My weaving , my indigenous teachers, my inspiration, tutorials and more........

isabell buenz

Art, fashion and other stuff

warpandwoofknitting

knitter, hiker, spinner and beginner weaver . meditation too.

Island Weaver & Knitter

Lynn Gray Ross Textile Designs

Felting Spinning Weaving - by Katrin Eagle

Life as a wool artist with stories of spinning, weaving and needle felting.

Kids, Dogs, and Crafts...Oh, My!

Life with kids and dogs, learning new crafts, and parents who are adjusting to role reversal

Amy's Sandblog

Every designer needs a sandbox - a place to create, experiment & get a little messy...and how about a blog to share these pieces! Welcome to my Sandblog :)

Skye Blessing

A place to share my other side....

Yogis Anonymous Blog

More than just yoga videos. Your practice, off the mat.

Pearls and Oysters

Creative Thoughts and Observations

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

