Bringing Traditional Knitting into the 21st Century

As part of the Tuesday Technnology class at Glen Estate, Brodick, I asked Duan Bruce, the very patient tutor to help me think through the Arran Knitting Company website (www.patterns.on-arran.com), bringing the Lynn Gray Ross traditional patterns up to date and linking them to a new Etsy page where they are now available for sale. The patterns cost £5.99, payable by credit card or Paypal.

I realised when I was doing this exercise of linking up our website and the  Etsy Arran Knitting Company page that there must be quite a lot of people out there who are interested in online knitting patterns, especially Scottish traditional ones like the Blue Bunnit and its variations for Handspun and “Scotland meets Uruguay” a Blue Bunnit pattern for Uruguayan alpaca yarn..

We’ve tried to make the patterns easy to access and the only technical skill is to press the ‘Purchase’ button which brings you a pattern ready to print out and enjoy knitting.

I hope I’ve communicated the pleasure I get from combining the traditional skills of knitting and following patterns with the 21st century technology equipment like my laptop. I am by no means skilled with the technical procedures and still have to ask my kids and of course Duan how to do simple things.. I’m reminded of the cartoon of the two women sitting at a table with a complicated cable pattern on the blackboard behind them. One of them is saying to the other “I never will get the hang of these computer programmes.”

You can find the patterns on http://www.patterns.on-arran.com.

Enjoy!

 

 

 

 

 

About lynngrayross

A mother and grandmother with over 40 years of experience in textile arts. Author of "Handweaving: the Basics" published by Bloomsbury UK. Available to purchase from www.bloomsbury.com

Leave a comment

The Hazel Tree

by Jo Woolf

Wee Ginger Dug

Biting the hand of Project Fear

Spiritual Dragonfly

My Beautiful Chaotic Life

Healthy. Healed. You., LLC

Personalized nutritional counseling

Backstrap Weaving

By Laverne Waddington. My weaving , my inspiration, tutorials and more........

isabell buenz

Art, fashion and other stuff

warpandwoofknitting

knitter, hiker, spinner and beginner weaver . meditation too.

Island Weaver & Knitter

Lynn Gray Ross Textile Designs

Painting | Creating | Living

A creative blog by Katrin Eagle featuring occasional thoughts and stories

Kids, Dogs, and Crafts...Oh, My!

Life with kids and dogs, learning new crafts, and parents who are adjusting to role reversal

mycreativenergy.wordpress.com/

Every designer needs a sandbox - a place to create, experiment & get a little messy...and how about a blog to share these pieces! Welcome to my Sandblog :)

Skye Blessing

A place to share my other side....

Yogis Anonymous Blog

More than just yoga videos. Your practice, off the mat.

Pearls and Oysters

Creative Thoughts and Observations

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.